No announcement yet.

Problem playing DSOTM 50th blu-ray DTS-HD Master Audio with my older receiver

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problem playing DSOTM 50th blu-ray DTS-HD Master Audio with my older receiver

I have an over 10-year-old Denon Receiver and it's having problem playing The Dark Side Of The Moon 50th blu-ray DTS-HD Master Audio (both stereo and multi-channel). It'll play for a minute or 2 and then no audio signal. I tried playing it via a usb player connected to the receiver and still the same issue. I have several other Blu-rays with DTS-HD MA and they all play ok, just not this one. It also plays the Atmos audio w/o any issues. Since the receiver is not Atmos capable, it plays as 7.1 Dolby TrueHD.

Has the DTS-HD MA codec changed recently or codec version incompatibility? Any idea?

I'm not an expert on this, but if it plays for a few minutes first, then it sounds like it can't really be a codec issue -- if it was, I believe it wouldn't work at all?

Does it always stop at the exact same point, or is it randomly around 1-2 minutes?

Comment

A similar eliminating thought - after inserting the disc, fast-forward to four minutes. Does it fast-forward OK past the 1-2 minute mark? Does it then play correctly, not at all or still just for 1-2 mins?
      What happens if you start playback from say track four?

Comment

Originally posted by Alan View Post
        I'm not an expert on this, but if it plays for a few minutes first, then it sounds like it can't really be a codec issue -- if it was, I believe it wouldn't work at all?

Does it always stop at the exact same point, or is it randomly around 1-2 minutes?

Originally posted by Journey Man View Post
        A similar eliminating thought - after inserting the disc, fast-forward to four minutes. Does it fast-forward OK past the 1-2 minute mark? Does it then play correctly, not at all or still just for 1-2 mins?
        What happens if you start playback from say track four?